About those KinderGuides…

educating alice

I had to read and reread PW’s piece about KinderGuides, because I thought it had to be a joke. But evidently it isn’t. So then I figured I’d put my fingers in my ears and say “lalala” so as to pretend they didn’t exist. Until today when Allison Flood’s sharp piece, “Children Don’t Really Need a Picture-Book Version of On the Road,” in the Guardian forced my irritated fingers out of my ears and on to my keyboard.

According to their website, this is a series that will

introduce some of the most iconic works of classic literature to young readers. Through visually-stunning illustrations and simplified, educational content we explore these timeless stories and the cultures that spawned them.

Without a smidgen of irony they plan to make these classics fit for children by creating for each a

condensed, simplified version of the plot, as well as a section devoted to…

View original post 314 more words

Leave a Reply

